Tips for putting files on your Norman SecureBox Vault

Probleem omschrijving

The easiest way to share files is simply by putting files on your Vault. You can share files on a Vault with other people and on a Vault with your own computers.

Probleem oplossing

You can do this:
  • By moving files and folders from your local hard disk to your Vault, which appears as your SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS).
    Your local hard disk is usually drive C or D in Windows or the Macintosh HD in the Mac OS. 
  • By saving files directly on your Vault 
  • By uploading files to securebox.norman.com (your online SecureBox Dashboard).
     
Keep these tips in mind as you put files on your SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS):
  • Organize your common folder structures 
  • Move, rename or delete with care 
  • Move, or copy and delete 
  • Move gradually 
  • Save in “My Documents”... on my Vault (Windows only) 
  • Mind the free disk space
     
Organize your common folder structures
 
Carefully think about the folder structures which you are going to use on your SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS). You have your own way of organizing your files in folders. On a SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS), however, you and your team members will have to figure out and stick to a common folder structure.
 
For example, as a graphic designer you may be used to saving your artwork in a folder named “stuff”. Your colleagues, however, may also have a “stuff” folder, in which they keep their text and PDF files. If you and your colleagues would just throw these stuff folders on a normal desk drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS) and synchronize, you would get one stuff folder containing a mixture of all these types of files.
 
Instead, it might be a better idea to proceed as follows:
  1. One person creates a folder structure on his SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS) which is logical to all team members 
  2. You synchronize your Vault to replicate the folder structure on all computers 
  3. You put your files in the respective folders 
  4. The next time the Vault synchronizes, you will all have the same files neatly arranged in the same folder structure, as shown in the example below:

    Figure 1. Folder structure in Windows Explorer


     
Figure 2. Folder structure in the Mac OS
 
 
Move, rename or delete with care

If you or your team members move, rename or delete files and folders on your SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS), the same change will be done on the other computers of your Vault as soon as the Vault is synchronized.

If you or your team members move, rename or delete files and folders on securebox.norman.com (your online SecureBox Dashboard), the same change will be done on a computer of your Vault as soon as the Vault is synchronized in the SecureBox Dashboard.

Move, or copy and delete

Once you have copied files to your SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS), you may want to delete them on your local hard disk (or the drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS) from which you copied these files). Remember that your SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS) is on your local hard disk, just like your drive C or D in Windows or the Macintosh HD. Consequently, if you would copy files, they would take up twice the amount of your local hard disk space and you would risk having version conflicts: you may be working or updating the files on your local hard disk and forget to copy these to your SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS) again.
Important:
Don’t worry about losing your files, the files you move to a SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS) are still on your local hard disk and therefore always accessible, even when you are not connected to the Internet.

Move gradually

Move your files gradually to your SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS), for example chunks of about 100 MB at a time, or about 20 - 30 files at once. Do not put all (large) folders at once on your SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS), because the Vault may then have difficulties in synchronizing.
 
Also, wait for synchronizing to complete before working on any files and saving them back to the Vault.

Save in “My Documents”... on my Vault (Windows only)

If you are used to saving your documents in the My Documents folder, you will now notice that shortcuts to your Vaults have been created in this folder. You can click these shortcuts to save your documents directly onto your SecureBox drive instead of in your My Documents folder.
 
Mind the free disk space

Keep in mind that the available disk space on a SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS) is limited to the size of the computer with the least free disk space.

Imagine the following configuration: 
Team member
Total hard disk capacity
Free disk space
Available disk space on SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS)
John
500 GB
300 GB
30 GB
Jane
300 GB
150 GB
30 GB
Scott
100 GB
35 GB
30 GB
Sophie
300 GB
200 GB
30 GB
Scott has the least free disk space on his computer: 35 GB. If one of his colleagues would put a folder on the SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS) which is larger than 35 GB, Scott’s computer would run out of disk space. So if you plan to put large files or folders on a SecureBox drive (Windows) or disk (Mac OS), check with your team members first to see if they have got sufficient free disk space on their computers.

Tip: You can change the place on your local hard disk where the data on your Vault is stored:
  • To a different folder 
  • To a different partition on your hard disk, for example to keep program files separated from data 
  • To an external hard disk, for example if you only have a limited amount of free disk space left on your local hard disk

 



Datum gepubliceerd:: 2013.09.19   Datum geupdate: 2013.09.19